Office of the Treaty Commissioner
Bay 215-2553 Grasswood Rd East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
S7T 1C8

Phone: 306-244-2100
Fax: 306-667-5654
Email: aseesequasis@otc.ca


Tribute to the late Elder Alma Kytwayhat

Elder Alma Kytwayhat from the Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation was a catalyst of change. Elder Kytwayhat made connections with the province’s youth, teachers, and leaders to build understanding and a harmonious future for all Saskatchewan citizens.

She played a significant role in building respect for Cree language, culture and spirituality, teaching students in schools to promote greater understanding and respect. She was responsible for educating 7,000 Saskatchewan teachers on the history, meaning and future of treaties and the treaty relationship in our province. She also provided input on the Teaching Treaties in the Classroom.

Elder Kytwayhat was an Elder-in-Residence for the Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools, an Elder on the Saskatchewan First Nations Women’s Commission and was appointed as a member of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Senate in 2007.

Alma did extensive work with the Meadow Lake Tribal Council and the Office of the Treaty Commissioner. With her late husband Simon, she served as Elder-in-Residence for the Bold Eagle program, an Army Reserve Basic Military Qualification course designed for Aboriginal youth.

She was a member of the Treaty Commissioner’s Speaker’s Bureau and a participant of both the Treaty Learning Network and the Exploratory Treaty Table. She has served as Elder and cultural advisor for the First Nations Summer Games and a participant in the 2006 Treaty Mace Runner Ceremony.

Her extensive knowledge of traditional healing remedies has been shared on television and she was a featured Elder in the Treaty Message Minutes on CTV in 2006. That same year she participated in the 100th anniversary of the first opening of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly.

The late Elder Kytwayhat received the Lifetime Achievement Award, Women of the Dawn First Nation Awards, Citizen of the Year, Indian Government Category, Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations’ Circle of Honour, and is listed on the Honor Wall of the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, DC. She was also the recipient of the Canada 125 Commemorative Medal and the Saskatchewan Centennial Medal.