We Are All Treaty People

Committing to walk the path of Reconciliation

  • Published - 06/02/2020
  • |
  • Posted By - OTC
  • |

Share this with others:


On Feb. 6, 2020, the partners of Prairie Rivers Reconciliation publicly committed to travelling the path of reconciliation together.

Through a pipe ceremony and public signing of the PRRC Reconciliation Declaration, the partners will formally begin their journey by building strong relationships for a long-term commitment to relationships and education.

“January 2018 brought together 29 people to discuss ways to build reconciliation. It began our journey of learning,” said Robin Bendig, one of the groups co-founders.

“March 2019 developed vision and objectives in a one-day retreat, and from this we created the declaration we’re signing today.”

The group decided on two priorities to move forward, relationships and education.”

More than 100 people attended the event held on One Arrow First Nation, including the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, Russell Mirasty.

“It’s critical that we have these conversations and then of course to act. Great work from committees like this build a common understanding,” he said,

“This is truly an investment in our province and like any investment it will take time, but it is crucial that we keep up the momentum."

Mirasty brought greetings from the Queen in English and in Cree.

Prairie Rivers Reconciliation is a Committee comprised of individuals, organizations and communities, from Rural Saskatchewan, who are committed to learning about reconciliation and actively working toward reconciliation which began in January 2018.

Affinity Credit Union, Batoche National Historic Site, Carlton Trail College, City of Martensville, City of Warman, Corman Park, Dakota Dunes Community Development Corporation, Federated Co-operatives Limited, Great Plains College, Lakeland District for Sport, Culture and Recreation, Martensville High School, Mennonite Central Committee, Misty Ventures, Office of the Treaty Commissioner, One Arrow First Nation, Prairie Central District for Sport, Culture, and Recreation, Prairie Sky Chamber, Prairie Spirit School Division, RCMP, Rosthern Junior College, Rosthern Station Arts Centre, Sask Parks & Recreation Association, Sask Polytechnic, Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority, SK Health Authority, Station Arts Centre, Town of Aberdeen, Town of Osler, Town of Rosthern, Valley Action Abilities, Waldheim School, Warman High School