We Are All Treaty People

David Arnot receives citizen of the year award

  • Published - 07/04/2017
  • |
  • Posted By - OTC
  • |

Share this with others:


At the end of March, David Arnot received his CTV Saskatoon Citizen of the Year award at a reception attended by the community.

The Office of the Treaty Commissioner representatives were there to celebrate the man who was the second Treaty Commissioner in Saskatoon from January 1997 to 2007.

During Arnot’s time as Treaty Commissioner he coined the phrase “We are all Treaty people” to capture the nature of the Treaty relationship in Canada. He was also a driver in the creation of the “Teaching Treaties in the Classroom Project” ensuring Treaty education was permanently a part of the Saskatchewan curriculum.

Arnot went on to become the chief commissioner of the Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission and is in his second five-year term

In one the letters of support to CTV, for Arnot’s nomination, “FSIN Chief Bobby Cameron said: ‘With an unwavering vision for what is possible, he has brought together educators, legal and political leaders and the public to see the importance of harmony for our society.’”

Arnot was named the 2016 citizen of the year on Dec. 31, 2016.