We Are All Treaty People

OTC celebrates Chief Marie-Anne Day Walker-Pelletier

  • Published - 17/06/2022
  • |
  • Posted By - OTC
  • |

Share this with others:


The Treaty Commissioner of Saskatchewan, Mary Culbertson, was thrilled to attend the event for the event to celebrate Chief Marie-Anne Day Walker-Pelletier.  Canada Post launched a stamp recognizing her achievements and service to her community on June 15 on Treaty 4 territory.

As leader of the Okanese First Nation in Saskatchewan, Chief Marie-Anne Day Walker-Pelletier served the most consecutive terms ever by an elected First Nations chief in Canada.

She is a committed advocate of social reform, and an inspiration to women leaders across the country. Day Walker-Pelletier was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2018 and invested in 2019. She also received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in 2021.

We thank her for her perseverance, for kindness, for role modelling the principles in her leadership at home, regionally, nationally, and on the international stage.

The stamp becomes available on June 21, 2022, National Indigenous Peoples Day, along with stamps honouring Indigenous leaders Harry Daniels and Jose Kusugak.

More information and links to the stamps