We Are All Treaty People

OTC celebrates those named to the order of Canada

  • Published - 09/01/2023
  • |
  • Posted By - OTC
  • |

Share this with others:


The Office of the Treaty Commissioner celebrates and congratulates all those from Saskatchewan who are being recognized for their extraordinary contribution with the Order of Canada.

Psychologist Gordon Asmundson is known for his research into anxiety around COVID-19 and post-traumatic stress disorder.  Dr. Ivar Mendez is a neurosurgeon, who is innovate in Canada and around the world. Don Kossick is a social justice and human rights advocate, focused on empowering communities. Rod McKendrick is with the Victims Services team where he is an interpersonal violence specialist.

The Honourable Judge Gerald Morin, from Ballantyne Cree Nation, is the first Cree-speaking judge in Saskatchewan and he created the Cree Court Circuit. This and his ongoing mentorship of young lawyers and judges had him named a Member of the Order of Canada.

Every time an Indigenous person takes a position of leadership or is recognized for their role in making their community, territory, or country a better place, it shows others what is possible.

We congratulate Judge Morin on his accomplishment and thank him for being a role model and trailblazer.

All of these five honourees have enriched the lives of others and made a difference to their country. They show us the way forward and we are inspired by their service, innovation, and compassion.