We Are All Treaty People

Rural Reconciliation

  • Published - 09/11/2018
  • |
  • Posted By - OTC
  • |

Share this with others:


The first ever Rural Reconciliation: An Educational Gathering held in Warman, Nov. 7 had a great turnout of people from across the community for a day of learning and sharing.

“To see so many individuals from various cultures and heritages all coming together with a common goal of understanding their shared history was absolutely wonderful,” said Amy Seesequasis director of the Office of the Treaty Commissioner’s speaker’s bureau. She was one of the organizers.

"The mood was very energetic and full of excitement as people entered the facility and visited with one another and viewed the displays. I know that for some, it was their first time at an event like this, and they did not know what to expect."

Mary Culbertson, Treaty Commissioner of Saskatchewan, made opening remarks at the event. The Office of the Treaty Commissioner speaker Dion Tootoosis spoke on the History of Treaties and the Treaty Relationship, and Annie Battiste, on Reconciliation and the Calls to Action. Tootoosis provided the Treaty 6 song and for many it was their very first time hearing the song of their Treaty territory. Eleanore Sunchild also presented.

“After each session, the presenter would have a lineup of individuals who wanted to thank them or share words of encouragement. I feel very positive about this educational gathering and I hope it sets the precedent for other communities to host these sessions,” Seesequasis said.

The group also had the opportunity to view the documentary Reserve 107, with members of the film, Gary Laplante and Leonard Doell.

“It was an excellent way to share a positive and inspiring example of rural Reconciliation.”

This Great Plains College event was hosted in partnership with Office of the Treaty Commissioner, City of Warman-City Hall, Town of Dalmeny, City of Martensville, Affinity CU and Mennonite Central Committee – MCC.

Sunchild, Tootoosis, and Laplante are all part of the OTC speakers bureau.