We Are All Treaty People

Statement from the Office of the Treaty Commissioner

  • Published - 02/01/2022
  • |
  • Posted By - OTC
  • |

Share this with others:


The team at the Office of the Treaty Commissioner celebrates the recipients of this year’s Order of Canada.  

Among them are five individuals from Saskatchewan including the Honourable Lillian Eva Quan Dyck, who is being recognized for her contributions to human rights and social justice, and for her powerful advocacy of First Nations and racial minorities in Canada. Deborah Chatsis, for her leadership as the first woman of a First Nation to serve as ambassador for Canada, and for her advocacy of human rights around the globe.  Robin Poitras, for her creative contributions to contemporary dance in Canada, and for her leadership as artistic director of New Dance Horizons. 

Also receiving recognition are business leader Vaughn Wyantt, and author Yann Martel. 

The Honourable Murray Sinclair is being recognized for his commitment to the representation of Indigenous legal issues, and for his dedication to reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Canadians. 

We are pleased to see a number of Indigenous people from across Canada receive one of the country’s highest honours because of their achievements, dedication, service to build strong communities.